about

The Museum School

 

lleadership

BOARD seeking a treasurer

The Museum School is accepting nominations for a Treasurer on its Board of Directors. The officer position begins in July 2015. Candidates should be certified public accountants and have strong project management skills as well as experience in financial projections/forecasting.

The submission deadline is 5:00 p.m. EDT, Sept. 30, 2014.

Position and Submission Details
Nomination Form

 

BOARD overview

The Museum School Board of Directors is responsible for ensuring that the academic program of The Museum School of Avondale Estates is successful, that the school’s program and operation are faithful to the terms of its charter, and that the school is a viable organization.

The Board of Directors generally meets on a monthly basis, as does each of the seven Board-level committees, described below.  Board-level committees include both Board and non-Board members.  Meetings are open to the public and new committee members are always welcome.  Please contact the respective committee chair to participate.  Upcoming Board meetings link.

 

board-level committees 

Academic Excellence – Chair, Mark Joyner
Works with the Principal to define academic excellence, ensure that all Board members understand the charter promises made to the community and the authorizer, and devise clear and consistent measures to monitor these goals.

Communication – Chair, Patti Ghezzi
Responsible for communicating news from The Museum School to relevant audiences.  

Development – Chair, Matt Knoop
Raises funds to meet the budgetary needs of The Museum School

Facility – Chair, Josh Andrews
Oversees implementation of Phase 2 of the temporary facility plan, and selects, acquires, and/or renovates a permanent facility for The Museum School.

Finance – Chair, Veny Aleksandrov
Works with Principal and Business Manager to create the annual budget; monitors implementation of approved budget on a regular basis and recommends proposed budget revisions.  Recommend policies for management of The Museum School’s assets.

Governance – Chair, Jesse Lincoln
Responsible for matters pertaining to board recruitment, nomination, orientation, training, and evaluation of Board members in accordance with the Bylaws and policies and practices approved by the Board.

Personnel – Chair, Mark Joyner
Advises Board on matters pertaining to personnel administration and staffing; hires and evaluates the Principal.

 

board of directors

CHAIR
Aspen Kron
aspen.kron@themuseumschool.org

VICE CHAIR
Andy Huff
andy.huff@themuseumschool.org

TREASURER
Veny Aleksandrov
veny.aleksandrov@themuseumschool.org

SECRETARY
Patti Ghezzi
patti.ghezzi@themuseumschool.org

Josh Andrews
josh.andrews@themuseumschool.org

Rick Clark
rick.clark@themuseumschool.org

Bill Elek
bill.elek@themuseumschool.org

Josh Horne
josh.horne@themuseumschool.org

Mark Joyner
mark.joyner@themuseumschool.org

Katherine Kelbaugh
katherine.kelbaugh@themuseumschool.org

Matt Knoop
matt.knoop@themuseumschool.org

Jesse Lincoln
jesse.lincoln@themuseumschool.org

Yolanda Silveri
yolanda.silveri@themuseumschool.org

Carla Smith
carla.smith@themuseumschool.org

Bert Thornton
bert.thornton@themuseumschool.org

 

Advisory Board Members

Mary Lamb, Adela Yelton, Tish Craig, Jenifer Cooper-Melia, Amy Crownover, Sasha Webb, Tamara Shipley, Brian Deutsch

 

IMPORTANT DOCUMENTS

Avondale Education Association Articles of Incorporation

Avondale Education Association Bylaws - Adopted February 2010

Audit Report for Year Ending June 30, 2010

Audit Report for Year Ending June 30, 2011